Cozy Mysteries, Paranormal

Book Review: The Skeleton Paints a Picture (Family Skeleton #4) by Leigh Perry

Synopsis
When Georgia Thackery arrives at Falstone Art and Design University (FAD) to begin her new adjunct gig, she finds Sid, the ambulatory skeleton, at her doorstep. Sid does not like that Georgia’s parents (both tenured professors themselves) have been inviting hordes of graduate students to their home because he cannot roam freely. Although Georgia objects at first to his arrival, Sid asks that he not be treated as a child. He is just as much an adult as Georgia and therefore can make responsible decisions for himself.

One night, during a snowstorm, Sid finds a wrecked car behind the bungalow where Georgia is staying. A short distance away, the victim is face down in the snow. When the officer asks Georgia if she knew the driver, she says that she did not. However, she learns at an emergency department meeting the next day that the victim was a fellow-adjunct and employee of the Writing Center.

Thanks to Sid’s tireless (literally, since he never sleeps) research, Georgia soon discovers that the victim was aware of stolen designs. Someone has been stealing student artwork and claiming it as his/her own. The victim had been trying to identify the thief when she was killed. To make matters worse, it appears that the killer might be a faculty member. Can Georgia bust the killer without revealing Sid’s identity or losing her chance for tenure?

Thoughts
Sid is a phenomenal character. He’s basically an optimistic C3PO, uttering corny dad jokes and meddling in others’ affairs. I particularly liked seeing Sid stand up for himself in this book. He may be a goofball but he is no fool. He is not a puppet that Georgia can control.

The mystery’s premise was also interesting. Plagiarism is hard to prove in the visual arts. Where is the line between inspiration and pure theft? I’m always impressed by how much Leigh Perry understands Academia. There were scenes that reminded me of the English department at the University of Pennsylvania, where I did my doctorate. I also nodded vigorously while Georgia explained to another character what being an adjunct entailed and why she couldn’t simply choose a full-time academic career.

Up until the final quarter of the novel, I thought that this would be one of my favorite books in the Family Skeleton series. I thought I had guessed the killer based on the clues given in the novel. But I was wrong. To be honest, I do not find the reveal convincing. All the clues pointed to a different character. Furthermore, there is some dialogue near the end of the novel that I found terribly convenient and cheesy. For that weak landing, I had to dock the book a half rating.

Nevertheless, I loved immersing myself in Georgia and Sid’s world. I read 217 pages in one sitting. I highly recommend the Family Skeleton series. What a delight!

Leave a comment