2024

Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2024

Every year, I like doing this tag. All my reviews are linked. The tag was created by @EarlGreyBooks‬ and @chami-readlikewildfire3646‬ on YouTube.

1. Best book you’ve read so far this year.
Conspirata by Robert Harris (Cicero #3)

Watch my review of the trilogy. This was a phenomenal historical fiction series. I can’t wait to read other novels by Robert Harris.

2. Best sequel you’ve read so far this year.
Snow Place for Murder (Mountain Lodge #3) by Diane Kelly

3. New release you haven’t read yet, but want to.
Brie Careful What You Wish For (Grilled Cheese #4) by Linda Reilly

I enjoyed books 1 and 2. Unfortunately, 3 was a disappointment. But I’m excited to read book 4. I love the community that Reilly has created.

4. Most anticipated release for the second half of the year.
Mrs. Claus and the Nightmare Before New Years (Mrs. Claus #5) by Liz Ireland

This book comes out on September 24, 2024. I have adored every novel in the series, so I can’t wait to read this one. I wish it was out already aha. Reviews: Book 1, Book 2, Book 3, Book 4

5. Biggest disappointment.
Myrtle, Means, and Opportunity (Myrtle Hardcastle #5) by Elizabeth C. Bunce

I loved the other 4 books, so I looked forward to reading book 5. Unfortunately, I thought it dragged in a few places and was not as tightly plotted as the other novels. The dialogue was also hard to understand because it was written in dialect. If I found it so challenging, how would a middle school reader be able to understand it? Nevertheless, I love the series and hope that Bunce comes out with book 6 this year. It’s an auto-read series for me. Here is my overview of the first 4 books.

6. Biggest surprise.
The No. 1 Ladies’ Detective Agency by Alexander McCall Smith

Precious Ramotswe runs the first female detective agency in Botswana. There are mysteries running through the book, but it’s more like a collection of short stories rather than a traditional novel. I love the way that Mma Ramotswe approaches the different cases. Her personality is larger-than-life. I can’t wait to read more in the series.

7. Favorite new (debut or new-to-you) author.
Sheri Richey.

I’ve enjoyed her Spicetown series. The first book was so cozy that I’m itching to reread it this year. Other review: Book 2

8. Newest fictional crush.
Sid, the ambulatory skeleton in the Family Skeleton series by Leigh Perry. He’s such a fun, nerdy character. I read the series for him. His friendship to Georgia Thackery is everything.

Reviews: Book 1, Book 2, Book 4

9. Newest favorite character.
Lt. Joe Leaphorn in the Leaphorn and Chee mysteries by Tony Hillerman.

I am invested in his character, after reading Skinwalkers this month. His vulnerability as the husband to a woman who’s losing her memory was touching.

10. Book that made you cry.
None. I rarely cry when reading books anymore. I used to, however, when I was younger.

11. Book that made you happy.
Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers by Jesse Q. Sutanto

The protagonist, a 60-something Chinese American teashop owner, is an outrageously funny character. She makes so many social faux pas, but thinks that her way is best. I loved her voicy character and would read other books with her as protagonist.

12. Most beautiful book you’ve received or bought so far this year.
Measuring Up by Lily LaMotte

I made a YouTube short for this delightful graphic novel.

13. What books do you need to read by the end of the year?

There are several. First, I want to read all 20 books on my Summer TBR.

I also want to complete my SAS list. These are the series that I want to complete by the end of the year.

Finally, there are individual books that I’m dying to read.

1. Mrs. Claus and the Nightmare Before New Year’s by Liz Ireland.

2. Brie Careful What You Wish For by Linda Reilly

3. Remarkably Bright Creatures by Shelby Van Pelt (sounds so sweet; love octopuses)

4. The Spy Coast by Tess Gerritsen

5. David Copperfield by Charles Dickens (I started it, but have hundreds of pages left to read. It’s good so far.)

1 thought on “Mid-Year Book Freak Out Tag 2024”

Leave a comment